While buying and using fake IDs is portrayed as commonplace in many of today’s shows and movies, young people charged with possession of a fake ID in Utah can face serious penalties. Learn what to expect and why it’s best to find a qualified lawyer for fake ID charges in Utah.
Using a fake ID to obtain alcohol, gain access to a bar or other age-restricted establishment, or gain employment in an age-restricted role is a crime. This white collar crime is recognized as separate from the crime of using a fake ID to commit identity theft or fraud, but is still a serious offense with lasting consequences under Utah law.
Depending on the specifics of the situation, you may face a class A, class B or class C misdemeanor offense. In many cases, using a fake ID to buy alcohol or enter a bar will result in a class A misdemeanor. However, if it is the first offense, this may be decreased to a class B misdemeanor.
It’s important to keep in mind that using the actual ID of a real person as your own is a more serious offense and will be classified as a class A misdemeanor. On the other hand, if you do not possess a fake ID but give false information to a police officer, this will likely classify as a less serious class C misdemeanor. Similarly, if you are the person lending an ID to someone else to claim as their own, this is also a class C misdemeanor.
Individuals facing charges for producing fake IDs are up against more serious consequences, as this is a second degree felony.
In Utah, fake ID charges can result in jail time.
A class A misdemeanor, which applies to situations in which an individual uses a fake ID to buy alcohol or get into a bar, can be punished by up to a year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. This may be decreased to a class B misdemeanor if it is a first offense, which is punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
A class C misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and as much as $750 in fines — this charge is common if there is no actual fake ID but an individual attempts to give false identifying and age-related information to a police officer.
Fake ID charges in Utah can also result in drivers’ license suspension and required classes on alcohol and substance abuse. While a misdemeanor may seem like a small matter compared to a felony, any amount of jail time is serious. Fake ID charges are also often compounded by other charges such as underage drinking, making the case and the defense all the more complicated.
Using a lawyer for fake ID charges in Utah is essential to get the best chance at defending your rights. Branson West Law is a white collar crimes criminal defense attorney who is prepared to represent you in your fake ID case!
With experience throughout the state fighting more than 3,500 charges, Branson West Law brings a deep understanding of the system and the laws to the table. With up to a year of jail time and thousands of dollars at stake, obtaining proper representation is a must.
Find a fake ID lawyer in Utah to help you build the strongest defense and give you the best chance at protecting your rights. Call Branson West Law today!