A BAC of 0.05% - the strictest in the nation - is all that is needed to convict you of a DUI in the state of Utah. If you've been accused of a DUI, don't simply assume the worst. While the Utah Justice System takes this crime seriously, a talented DUI lawyer can help you successfully fight the case.
Branson West is an experienced Utah DUI attorney who has fought and won thousands of cases for his clients. He can build an expert defense for your case, possibly dismiss your charges, reduce fines, help you keep your license, avoid car impound fees and more.
In the United States, possessing a driver's license is considered a privilege, not a right. A common way this privilege is lost is due to DUI charges. But do not assume that a DUI charge automatically means your license will be revoked. Depending on your case, there is a very good chance your lawyer can help you keep your license! However, it is required that all individuals charged with a DUI crime request a hearing with the DMV within 10 days of their arrest. If you fail to complete this step, your license will be suspended, no matter how good your case is.
The second most important step in fighting your DUI case is to contact the court. In order to present a flawless case, it is important to follow all the rules! On your DUI citation, there is a notice that provides your assigned court information and instructions to contact the court in "no less than five, nor more than 14 days." Failure to contact the court within this time period can lead to a warrant for your arrest.
Many individuals accused of a DUI, especially first time offenders, assume that the officer has a solid case against them and that fighting the case in the court is impossible. This is wrong. Mistakes are common and many cases are completely dismissed because an officer broke protocol, didn't provide sufficient evidence or didn't show up for the hearing. Never assume guilt! In the American criminal justice system, you are innocent until proven guilty. By avoiding mistakes and hiring a professional DUI lawyer like Branson West, you can maintain your innocence.
Impound fees are often one of the most expensive aspects of a DUI charge. If your car was impounded, it is essential that you save all documentation and receipts. It is possible to get some or all of the money back, but you must have all documentation on hand.
A judge will not be impressed just because you went to AA or completed community service after your DUI arrest. What may help, on the other hand, is counseling with a state licensed substance abuse counselor.
A DUI charge carries heavy consequences that can affect your ability to drive, your financial situation and even your job. With a fair and experienced lawyer like Branson West, however, you may be able to avoid the majority, if not all, of these consequences. While Utah punishes DUI offenders heavily, these types of cases are difficult to prove. By avoiding the above common mistakes and presenting a solid case with the assistance of Utah's best DUI lawyer, Branson West, you may be able to walk away from this mistake with no long term consequences. Contact us today for a free consultation!
Branson has handled thousands of Utah DUI charge cases in Salt Lake City and the local court systems. He KNOWS Utah's judges and he knows the prosecutors who handle the DUI cases in Utah. Most of all, he knows how to defend you against DUI charges in Utah successfully. If you find yourself charged with drunk driving or a DUI, call Branson, the best DUI lawyer in Utah, at 801-285-5550. For those facing DUI charges in or around SLC, Branson K. West is the DUI attorney with the experience to win.