Utah DUI Attorney Blog
Branson K. West DUI Attorney in Utah
Posted on Jun 27th 2012
Protecting Your Utah Driver's License
I Just wanted to blog for a minute about driver's license. There's nothing more frustrating than dealing with driver's license issues if you've never had to before.
One of the most frustrating things is that the legislature changes the laws on driver's licenses all the time, and rarely are drivers made aware of the changes. Here's a perfect example:
Last week I received a call from a lady who had been pulled over for not moving over for a police officer. She paid her fine at the court, and was told to take a class to keep it off of her record. The court told her to do it within 60 days, which, unfortunately, she missed. But she did get the class done in about 65 days. According to new Utah law, on this particular charge, if you don't take a class within 60 days, you will get your license suspended. Now, the frustration was that there was no warning. A working mom lost her license for 90 days with no warning. IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU! Fight the driver's license division and don't let injustice happen.